Family Programs

Reading into History Family Book Club: Children’s History Book Prize Winner!
Children’s History Book Prize Winning Author
Sunday, May 21st, 2017 | 2:00 pm

Free with Museum Admission
Recommended for ages 9–12 and their adults

Since 2013 the DiMenna Children’s History Museum and New-York Historical Society has awarded an annual prize to the best middle grade novel about American history. This special book club meeting will feature the (yet to be announced) winning book and author for 2016! We’ll also visit our galleries to explore artifacts related to the book.

About the Children’s History Book Prize

Through the Children’s History Book Prize, the New-York Historical Society honors the best children’s historical literature and encourages authors to create engaging and challenging narratives that provide a window into the past for middle readers and their families. The winning author is awarded $10,000. The winner is chosen by a jury comprising librarians, educators, historians, and families with middle grade readers. This year, members of the public can also cast a vote for their favorite of the four finalists.

Learn more about our four finalists here. Visit our History Detectives blog throughout March and April to read interviews with our finalist authors. Starting April 24, vote for the book YOU think should win this year’s prize!

2016 Finalists

Unbound by Ann Burg






It Ain’t So Awful, Falafel by Firoozeh Dumas






10 Days a Madwoman: The Daring Life and Turbulent Times of the Original “Girl” Reporter, Nellie Bly by Deb Noyes






Wolf Hollow by Lauren Wolk

Please contact for more information and pricing.




Birthday Parties information: download as pdf 

Creative: Tronvig Group