Thanksgiving Hours

The Museum will close early at 3 pm on Wednesday, November 22, and will be closed all day on Thursday, November 23. The Museum will be open on Friday, November 24, 10 am to 8 pm. Have a happy Thanksgiving!

Why Isn't South Brooklyn in Southern Brooklyn?

Kings County was once divided into six towns: Bushwick, Flatbush, Flatlands, New Utrecht, Gravesend and Brooklyn. The Town of Brooklyn included a similarly named village; its southern end was called "South Brooklyn." The Village of Brooklyn became a city and eventually annexed the county towns, pushing its southern border to Coney Island and leaving South Brooklyn far to the north.

Video embed code: 
Creative: Tronvig Group