Guggenheim-Lehrman Prize in Military History
Nominees include Matthew J. Davenport, David L. Preston, Nicholas Stargardt, T.J. Stiles; Moderated by Andrew Roberts
Mon, March 21st, 2016 | 6:00 pm
(Members $10)


Celebrated historian Andrew Roberts moderates this special program featuring the finalists of the 2015 Guggenheim-Lehrman Prize in Military History. In a conversation focusing on the nominated books, the finalists discuss important moments in the history of warfare before the evening’s award winner is announced. Jointly administered by the Harry Frank Guggenheim Foundation and the New-York Historical Society, the Guggenheim-Lehrman Prize in Military History seeks to engage public discourse in wartime studies, international relations, and diplomacy.

Reception to follow

The 2015 finalists include:

  • Matthew J. Davenport, author of First Over There: The Attack on Cantigny, America's First Battle of World War I (St. Martin's Press)

U.S. Army Reserve Veteran Matthew J. Davenport explores America’s first modern military battle which utilized the support of tanks, airplanes, and modern artillery.

  • David L. Preston, author of Braddock's Defeat: The Battle of the Monongahela and the Road to Revolution (Oxford University Press)

David L. Preston, professor of national security studies, recounts the brutal 1755 military defeat in which a group of Indian warriors overtook the North American British commander in chief and his army.

  • Nicholas Stargardt, author of The German War: A Nation Under Arms, 1939-1945 (Basic Books)

Nichols Stargardt, professor of modern European history, offers new interpretation of what drove the Germans to fight—and keep fighting—for a lost cause towards the end of World War II.

  • T.J. Stiles, author of Custer's Trials: A Life on the Frontier of a New America (Alfred A. Knopf)

Pulitzer Prize-winning biographer and historian T.J. Stiles provides a new, sweeping look at Civil War General George Armstrong Custer, expanding and reinterpreting the legacy of the talented military leader.

Andrew Roberts (moderator), Chair of the 2015 Judging Committee for the Guggenheim-Lehrman Prize in Military History, is Distinguished Lehrman Fellow at New-York Historical Society and the author and editor of 12 books. 


The Robert H. Smith Auditorium at the New-York Historical Society, 170 Central Park West, New York, NY 10024


Program Admission $15; Members $10
FREE for members at the Benefactor level and above. Reserve free tickets by calling (212) 485-9280.

Purchase by phone: Please contact New-York Historical’s in-house call center at (212) 485-9268. Call center is open 9 am–5 pm daily.
Purchasing online: Click on the orange “Buy Tickets” button at the top of this page.
Purchasing in person: Advance tickets may be purchased on site at New-York Historical’s Admissions desk during museum hours.

Advance purchase or reservation is required to guarantee seating. All sales are final and payments cannot be refunded. No exchanges are permitted. Programs and dates may be subject to change. Management reserves the right to refuse admission to latecomers.

Creative: Tronvig Group